I have always enjoyed newspapers, but just lately I’ve been finding myself thinking more about the way I access information.

Three things have triggered this:

1. I am spending more time on the train and thus have more time to read
2. I am earning more money, which has opened up the possibility of subscriptions and daily papers, without worrying too much about cost
3. I finally upgraded my Blackberry and took time to download some useful apps (such as Opentweet)

Like I said, I’ve always enjoyed newspapers, but increasingly I skip much of the news and read more of their analysis. I also buy different papers throughout the week, depending on their lead stories (even though I don’t read much of the news) or supplements (Media Guardian, Media supplement in the Indie, etc.).

The Telegraph mobile site is clean and crisp, and perfect for me even if it isn’t necessarily my first editorial choice.

The biggest change of all however, has to be my increasing use of Twitter to seek out opinions on local, regional and national news and issues. Its perfect for the journey home; scanning updates to my contacts’ professional networks and blogs.

The combination of sources is slightly overwhelming, but also very empowering. My work definitely benefits from being able to keep on top of what the leading thinkers in my area are thinking, as well as the wider political context and a variety of analysis.

I am giving a presentation on careers in media to a local sixth form next week. Thinking back to when I was in their position (not all that long ago, but a very different media landscape), the one thing I wish I had spent more time doing was understanding how people access information. Thinking about this now will give them more career guidance than any number of qualifications.