‘I’m paid too much to manage social media.’ Well, I’m too busy to engage with your traditional marketing.

This is something I tweeted, which I just had to get off my chest after overhearing the comment, made between two marketing professionals in a cafe. I should make clear that I don’t make a habit of listening to other people’s conversations, but I just happened to hear this while in the queue.

It brought to a head something that has been bothering me for a while: trivialisation of social media and social tools.

I blogged a while back about the different characters I’ve encountered when talking about digital engagement in work and, er, I’m ashamed to say, down the pub. Ever since writing that post I’ve been noticing these different stages of social media acceptance more and more.

One particular trait I’ve noticed is a tendancy from people who should have a better appreciation of the benefits of digital engagement, to trivialise the tools. Much like the comment above, these people – they could be colleagues, family, friends – often don’t appreciate that they already manage social media in some form or another. Without really appreciating it, they update a Facebook page, connect with each other on LinkedIn or comment on someone’s Flickr stream.

For me, it is more reason than ever to continue using digital channels, tools and networks as part of day-to-day work. It’s not easy to evangalise 24/7 about digital, so it helps if it becomes normal, rather than novelty.

In the meantime, here’s an interesting step forward from a Detroit dinosaur to keep you and me motivated.

Cadillac Eldorado

If it's good enough for Detroit to take seriously, then why should anyone else treat it as scrap?

Photo courtesy of: http://www.flickr.com/photos/myoldpostcards/