pile of paper

My 'to do' list. Image courtesy of http://bit.ly/iSvlf4

For the next few months I’m going to be working in the private office of my Director General for Communications.

It feels like a huge change from the digital communications team that I currently work within. I really enjoy working in this team too. However, I’m also conscious of the need to understand a bit more about how a Government Department works.

Joining the public sector almost two years ago was a very unexpected change. All my career to that point had been spent in the private sector, working for small or medium sized publishers or agencies. When I told former colleagues that I was going to work in Government there was lots of sucking of teeth, and muttering about it boredom, stifling creativity and paperwork. Not so. I’ve found the civil service to be as professional, transparent and accountable than any other organisation I’ve come into contact with. In some cases more so.

But sometimes I can still scarcely believe I’m here, let alone making a move to sample civil service life closer to the centre of the Department.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to it, although I will miss my current colleagues greatly.

It’s also time to put my money where my mouth is. I am hoping to understand more about how digital can be used effectively in the day-to-day running of an organisation, outside of digital communications. I have written here about brilliant, easy tools that can help us do our jobs better. If I can introduce just a few of these in the coming months then I’ll be pleased. And if I can’t, hopefully I will understand why.

Either way I’ll report back.

And I’m still keeping my hand in with some extra-curricular digital activity: #nhssm each week and speaking at Doctors 2.0 in June.