I came across this interesting study from Booz and Company, examining where social media sits within organisations; how aware the CEO is of digital, which department owns social media etc.

It is a US study, and I think primarily focused on the private sector.

But it got me thinking about some of the results, particularly where digital lives in an organisation (slide 3). The report shows eight per cent of respondents citing IT as the home of digital. I’m willing to bet this is greater in the public sector, and particularly the NHS.

I’m not sure how much faith I put in slides that tell of increased spend and resource. No-one wants to be the person to say ‘we’re don’t know how useful it really is’.

It’s an interesting snapshot though. How do you think these results might contrast with the UK public sector?

View this document on Scribd