I happen to think heart research is a very important thing.

In my opinion, it doesn’t get much coverage – there are many other health problems to cause us worry, and it seems the heart is generally accepted as an organ we know enough about.

Heart research is important to me because, when I was four years old my Grandfather died suddenly of a heart attack, at the age of 57. It isn’t something I remember, but I grew up aware that he had died, and, relative to survival rates for other men of his generation, that he was young.

Recently I got to thinking about other friends, family and colleagues I have known, who died suddenly of unforeseen or unknown heart conditions and were even younger.

There are lots of deserving causes out there, but we mustn’t overlook heart research.

British Heart Foundation (BHF) run lots of marketing initiatives (I am a fan of their social media work, from a personal and professional view), but if you didn’t know better, you’d say they were focused on smokers and CPR. It’s true that BHF target these subjects, but they also fund a huge amount of research into heart disease and its causes – the causes we don’t fully understand.

In this video, Dr Laura Corr talks about the hard truth of heart problems

On Sunday, 17 June, I’m cycling from London to Brighton (and back again the next day) with Andrew Spires, to help raise awareness of the British Heart Foundation’s work, and in memory of Grandpa and others who have suffered from heart conditions.

If you know of someone who has died of a heart-related cause then add their name to the comments below, and I’ll ride in their memory too.

If you would like to sponsor me, the fundraising page is here.