I completed a survey last week that asked whether or not I belonged to a professional body. I think what the author of the survey meant to say was a ‘recognised’ body. Something like CIPR or IDM.

The survey seemed quite important in the context of some other things that are happening, so immediately I felt guilty for not being a paid up member of at least five branded communications bodies.

But on reflection, isn’t the web, and our networks within it, one brilliant, huge, professional community? For those of us working in communications, and particularly at the intersection between digital and communications, we can absorb more expert knowledge, support and contacts than any number of professional subscriptions.

I’m not saying there isn’t a role for professional bodies: they offer structure and a means to filter huge amounts of content. But I’m not going to feel bad for not having any particular affiliation, other than the strength of my own network and ability to tap information.