When I’m ‘doing’ digital with teams who want to learn new skills, it’s tempting to bundle everything in at once. I convince myself that they’re clutching a buzzword bingo scorecard, and their assessment of my knowledge will be determined by how many times I refer to big data, agile, APIs, twitter, hyper local and so on.

Perhaps that’s what they think they should be hearing. But I think the majority of people I meet on training courses want some solid, practical advice and guidance, because often we are leading people through a huge change to their working lives.

It’s helpful to get a bit of a jolt from people now and again and be reminded of just how much change someone has typically seen in their working life, so far. I’ve had that jolt twice in the past six months.

The first occasion, when the subject of access to social media came up led to once colleague saying:

this is just the same as when the internet first arrived in our office – managers weren’t sure then whether people would waste their time online, or not

On the second occasion, a colleague told me how how cloud-based digital tools were only the third wave of technology change he had ever experienced in the workplace:

this digital training is all new to me, just as it was when I received my first desktop PC. Prior to that, I had a course on how to use the typing pool

I’ll be keeping the typing pool in mind, next time I am tempted to burden people with too much information and too many buzzwords.

Rusty typewriters outside

Image courtesy of https://www.flickr.com/photos/neilwill/ under Creative Commons